Book Review: Airman

airmanTitle: Airman
Author: Eoin Colfer
Genre: Fantasy, Historical Fiction
Cover Illustrator: Larry Rostant
Pages: 414
Rating:

Summary: One dark night on the island of Great Saltee, fourteen-year-old Conor is framed for
a terrible crime he didn’t commit. Thrown into prison by the dastardly Hugo Bonvilian, Conor
is trapped in a seaswept dungeon and branded a traitor. He must escape and clear his name;
he wants his old life back- his family, his friends…and his princess.
Conor knows there is only one way out. It’s an impossible task that has never been done before.
But Conor is determined to do it.
He’ll have to fly.

 

On the Plot:

I love the idea of this plot. Conor is framed for murder which leaves his family in shock. He is quite literally branded a traitor and thrown into a harsh prison. Everyone else believes he died on the night of the crime. With the help of his new blind friend, Linus Wynter, he is determined to break out and bring those who wronged him to justice.
Like I said, this story has a very good frame. However, I was disappointed when I  read it because I found this book to be slow paced and at times just down right boring.
I wanted to like this because it sounded really awesome! It had adventure, aircraft, and crime but it failed to hit the mark for me. The author stretched the build up period of the story more than what was necessary and because of that I found myself nodding off.
Furthermore, while I was reading this, I noticed a nagging sense of familiarity. I couldn’t put my finger on what exactly though until I neared the end of the book. The Count of Monté Cristo. Holy crap The Count of Monté Cristo! Which means I’ve heard this story before.
-A man is framed for a crime he didn’t commit.        CHECK
-He is branded a traitor and sent to a brutal prison
while his loved one believes him to be dead.           CHECK
-With the help of a fellow prisoner he’s determined
to break out and bring justice to those who
wronged him.                                                            CHECK

You see what I mean? And I believe that added to why I had a had a hard time enjoying it. I love originality and I didn’t quite get that here. But if you don’t mind reading something similar or maybe don’t know The Count of Monté Cristo (in which case go read/watch it!!) then perhaps you’ll enjoy this more than I did.

On the Characters:

Although I didn’t love this book I did like a few of the characters. Conor, his mentor Victor, and his friend Linus were my favorites. Eoin Colfer successfully allows you to understand what’s going on through, not only the protagonist’s head, but also the minor characters like Victor and Linus.
The beginning of this book introduces the main character, Conor, and the princess, Isabella, as children running around the castle playing “pirates”. AWE….
This is such a cute and warm introduction! I like how the intro took place when they were younger; it shows how close they were at such a young age and gives the reader a better understanding of how they both must’ve felt when Bonvilian, the antagonist, set his devious plan into action.
The characters and the ability to understand the thoughts of the characters is what gave the book most of the rating here. I still can’t get past the deja vu.

On the Characters:

Although I didn’t love this book I did like a few of the characters. Conor, his mentor Victor, and his friend Linus were my favorites. Eoin Colfer successfully allows you to understand what’s going on through, not only the protagonist’s head, but also the minor characters like Victor and Linus.
The beginning of this book introduces the main character, Conor, and the princess, Isabella, as children running around the castle playing “pirates”. AWE….
This is such a cute and warm introduction! I like how the intro took place when they were younger; it shows how close they were at such a young age and gives the reader a better understanding of how they both must’ve felt when Bonvilian, the antagonist, set his devious plan into action.
The characters and the ability to understand the thoughts of the characters is what gave the book most of the rating here. I still can’t get past the deja vu.

More

A film adaptation is being planned for this book and set to be released in 2015, although no cast has been chosen so far.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Airman

      • I read it when I was younger (excluding the last book) and absolutely loved it. I plan to re-read them at some point in the future. Artemis is a child genius – he’s not just labelled that, it is quite obvious that he is brilliant. Another thing that I liked is that he is an anti-hero, which is interesting. I definitely recommend giving them a shot.

        Like

Leave a Reply

