Top Ten Inspiring Quotes From Books

toptentuesday

This wonderful meme was brought to us by The Broke and the Bookish. Be sure to head over there to check out previous and next Top Ten Tuesday topics.

Every now and then when reading a book we run into a sentence or a group of sentences that hits us hard, for whatever reason. There’s just so much meaning in those words. Then we try to remember it by writing it down, tabing or marking the page. I love seeing other people’s tabbed pages it’s like being in their mind and seeing through their eyes. It’s strangely personal like a secret and I love that they trust me with their secret. Here are some of the quotes I love. And I’m sharing with you 😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Frodo: I wish the Ring had never come to me. I wish none of this had happened.

Gandalf: So do all who live to see such times, but that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.” – The Lord of the Rings, by J.R.R. Tolkien 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“We believe in ordinary acts of bravery, in the courage that drives one person to stand up for another.”– Divergent, by Veronica Roth

 

 

 

 

 

“Each day means a new twenty-four hours. Each day means everything’s possible again. You live in the moment, you die in the moment, you take it all one day at a time.” -Legend, by Marie Lu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world…but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices.” – The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green

 

 

 

“I wanted to tell the book thief many things, about beauty and brutality. But what could I tell her about those things that she didn’t already know? I wanted to explain that I am constantly overestimating and underestimating the human race-that rarely do I ever simply estimate it. I wanted to ask her how the same thing could be so ugly and so glorious, and its words and stories so damning and brilliant.” – The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak 

 

“People observe the colors of a day only at its beginnings and ends, but to me it’s quite clear that a day merges through a multitude of shades and intonations with each passing moment. A single hour can consist of thousands of different colors. Waxy yellows, cloud-spot blues. Murky darkness. In my line of work, I make it a point to notice them.”– The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“We need never be hopeless because we can never be irreperably broken.” – Looking for Alaska, by John Green

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Courage. Kindness. Friendship. Character. These are the qualities that define us as human beings, and propel us, on occasion, to greatness.” – Wonder, by R.J. Palacio

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Never forget what you are, for surely the world will not. Make it your strength. Then it can never be your weakness. Armour yourself in it, and it will never be used to hurt you.” – A Game of Thrones, by George R.R. Martin

 

 

“And if candor
strikes to forcefully,
step back, draw careful
breath, and consider the angle
your words must take
before you open
your mouth, let them leak
out. Because once you tilt the truth,
it becomes a lie.” -Tilt, 
by Ellen Hopkins

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Stories never really end, Meggie, even if the books like to pretend they do. Stories always go on. They don’t end on the last page, any more than they begin on the first page.”-Inkspell, by Cornelia Funke

 

 

What is one of your favorite quotes? If you did this Top Ten topic let me know in the comments and I’ll check it out.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Inspiring Quotes From Books

Leave a Reply

