Book Review: I’ve Got Your Number

Title: I’ve Got Your Number
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Rating: 
Genre: Fiction, Romance (Chick-Lit)
Pages: 464
Published by: Black Swan
First Published: October 31st, 2011
Format: Paperback
Source: Borrowed

Goodreads Synopsis:

I’ve lost it. 😦

The only thing in the world I wasn’t supposed to lose. My engagement ring. It’s been in Magnus’s family for three generations. And now, the very same day his parents are coming, I’ve lost it. The very same day. Do not hyperventilate, Poppy.

Stay positive!! 🙂

A couple of glasses of bubbly with the girls and Poppy’s life has gone into meltdown. Not only has she lost her engagement ring, but in the panic that followed, she’s lost her phone too. When she spots an abandoned phone in a bin it seems it was meant to be…Finders Keepers!

Except the phone’s owner, elusive businessman Sam Roxton, doesn’t agree. He wants his phone back, and doesn’t appreciate Poppy reading all his messages and wading into his personal life. Can things get any more tangled?

Plot Overview:

Poppy Wyat loses her engagement ringand has her phone stolen all in one day. She needs the priceless ring and need a phone to help her find it (not to mention for all the wedding planning), so when she finds a perfectly good phone in the bin of a hotel lobby she takes it. That phone is what connects her to Sam Roxton, the owner of the phone. And reading his e-mails is what gets her in tangled situations.

My Thoughts:

I thought it was about time I picked up (translation: steal from my sister’s shelf) a funny book. So I went with Sophie Kinsella because all those spines with her name were practically calling me. (My sister loves her books.) This stand alone was my first Sophie Kinsella book.

Overall, I liked this book. It was an interesting thing to see Poppy connect to a stranger on the other end of the phone just because she happened to to spot it in the trash.

Poppy is the narrator of the this book; she takes us through all the messiness of everything that’s happening as she tries to find her ring. And although she’s the main character, she frustrated me multiple times, and that frustration is due to her actions. She makes everything so much worse for herself when it could’ve easily been avoided! She takes it upon herself to intervene with Sam’s e-mails. And it wasn’t like she did the once or even twice (which would still be wrong) but several times! Replying to business and personal e-mails as him, without him knowing. I was so against this. She had no right!

She’s also a people pleaser. The type that’ll end a text in “xxxxxxxxx” to people she doesn’t really know. (Yes, that many Xs.) I’m not saying wanting people to like you is a bad thing. Of course it’s not! We all do on some level. But she over does it. (She basically works for her wedding planner.) She lets people walk over her and doesn’t stand up for herself which annoyed me. I thought this was all contributing to character development, especially towards the end where it seemed like she was finally sticking up for herself but the she let that demeanor fall away and everything was back to how it was.

Okay, so those were the things that bothered me about this book now let me tell you what I enjoyed. I loved the footnotes where she’d include an additional sentence of rambling or an afterthought. The texts were also fun and quick to read. The humor in this book had me laughing out at times. All of that is why I enjoyed the book despite some frustrations. If you like chick-lit you might like this.

On the characters:

There are two main characters in this story: Sam Roxton, the male protagonist, and of course Poppy. I’ve already discussed Poppy’s impulsive character, Sam however is a coolheaded business man who balances all the crazy in the book. You don’t really know much about hin till the end of the book. At first glance he seems to be curt and stoic but you slowly get introduced to his underlying personality.

On the Rating:

This book makes a 3 star rating for me (which if you look to the sidebar means its a good book). Yes, Poppy annoyed me at times and yes, the end was a little to soap opera -ish for me, but I had a good time reading it so I gave it the “good book” rating.

Quotes on the Book:

  • “We’re playing Scrabble. It’s a nightmare.”

“Scrabble?” He sounds surprised. “Scrabble’s great.”

“Not when you’re playing with a family of geniuses, it’s not. They all put words like ‘iridiums’. And I put ‘pig’.”

  • “But sometimes you have to be brave. Sometimes you have to show people what’s important in life.”
  • “Every instinct in me wants to text someone OMG, I’ve lost my phone! but how can I do that without a bloody phone?”
2 thoughts on “Book Review: I’ve Got Your Number

Leave a Reply

