October 2015 Releases

Bye-bye September and hello October! October promises us book readers with a handful of anticipated reads plastered with authors’ names such as Rick Riordan, Marie Lu and Rainbow Rowell. Have I got your attention? Excited? I will now list the titles and the expected release dates so you can count down the days to bum rush the bookstore.

First on the list is – drum roll please…

1. The Sword of Summer – October 6th

By none other than Rick Riordan. Who’s been waiting for this? This is the first book of his new series – dubbed Magnum Chase and the Gods of Asgard – exploring Norse mythology (Thor’s world). So interested to know more; all I know about this world is what the marvel movies have taught me. I wonder if Thor will make an appearance and if he does I wonder if it will be will be difficult to take the picture of Chris Hemsworth out of my mind. OOO! What if Loki makes an appearance?

2. Through the Dark – October 6th

Novellas that are part of the Darkest Minds series by Alexandra Bracken.

3. Sky Key – October 6th

Second book to the End Game series. This book has been on my TBR for a while. I will get to it I promise!

4. The Rest of Us Just Live Here – October 6th

Patrick Ness’s new book where the main characters aren’t the extraordinary (the chosen) ones.

5. Carry On – October 6th

Rainbow Rowell’s new book also comes out on this date. It sounds like this is a companion book to Fangirl, following Simon Snow in Kathy’s fan fiction.

Carrying on to the rest of the month:

6. The Rosie Society – October 13th

The second book to The Young Elites series by Marie Lu

7. Ice like Fire – October 13th

by Sarah Raasch. This fantasy series is on my wish list! I’ve heard good reviews of the first book – Snow like Ashes – and can’t wait to pick it up.

8. Illuminae – October 20th

by Amie Kaufman. I have absolutely no idea what this is about but it got buzz early on when the ARCs came out and stunned everyone with it’s beauty. It didn’t look like an ARC! It was in hardcover. A hardcover ARC??

On further investigation (and by that I mean reading the synopsis on Goodreads) it turns out Illuminae takes place in the year 2575 and two rivalries are at war over a planet (I’m assuming Earth. I could be wrong.) The story is told through the information Katy (one of the main characters) hacked: documents, e-mail, IMs, military file ect.

Those are the books I know about thats coming out in October. If I missed an anticipated title let me now it in the comments bellow 🙂 So what are you looking forward to?

Leave a Reply

