Book Review: Camp Midnight

Title: Camp Midnight
Author: Steven T. Seagle
Artist: Jason Katzenstein
Rating: 
Genre: Paranormal, Graphic Novel, Middle Grade
Pages: 248
Published by: Image Comics
Expected Publication: May 3rd, 2016
Format: E-book
Source: NetGalley
Add

Goodreds Synopsis:

Ben 10 and Big Hero 6 creator Steven T. Seagle returns to comics with New Yorker Magazine cartoonist Jason Adam Katzenstein for a new graphic novel! Reluctant Skye is accidentally sent to the wrong summer camp. Not wanting to please her step monster, Skye is dead-set on not fitting in. That won’t be a problem, as everyone at Camp Midnight-with the exception of fellow camper and fast-friend Mia-is a full-fledged monster! The perfect book for fans of Raina Telgemeier’s Smile, but wish it had more bowls of gooey eyeballs.”

Lets get to the disclaimer part shall we: I recived this from NetGalley in exgange for an honest review.

I saw this up for review on NetGalley while browsing the Graphic Novel category and once I saw that it was from the creator of Ben 10 and Big Hero 6: I – was – sold.

Overview:

Camp Midnight is a middle grade graphic novel about a girl named Skye who visits her dad (parents are devorced) and her stepmother (or as she likes to call her: step-monster). Her stepmother convinces her dad to send her away to camp. If that’s not bad enough she gets sent away to the wrong camp. And if that’s still not bad enough the campers are all monsters. Like real creatures of the night who wake at midnight, hence the name Camp Midnight.

On the Art:

This graphic novel deffinitely gives off a creepy vibe. I think the art plays a big part in that because the story alone isn’t scary but paired with the art it gives a disturbing look and feel to everything. A lot of the coloring is done with bright, almost highlighter-like colors which admitedly shocked me since thats typically not the type of style I’m used to seeing in these types of graphic novels. It took time to get used to but in retrospect I think that it added to the overall mood of the story. The Illustrations were simple and at times it could look quite creepy.

 

 

My Thoughts:

As I’ve mentioned before, this is targeted to the middle grade age group, so the story itself is not scary. In fact this story deals with identity. It’s about not letting the negative thoughts of other people affect how you view yourself. It’s about accepting who you are. It’s also about friendship and how you should stick with people who stick with you. I found that to be a warming message. In the end that’s what I liked about it. I also thought it was interesting to tell that message in a paranormal environment.

I did find the main character to be overly dramatic at times but it didn’t bother me too much.

Overall it was a cute story with a good message and I enjoyed it. I think the middle graders would enjoy this much more than I did though.

 

 

One thought on “Book Review: Camp Midnight

Leave a Reply

