Book Gush: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Hey guys! This year I decided I’d start Book Gush/Rant posts where I basically just Gush or Rant about a book. Because, you know, sometimes reviews just don’t cover all the feels and I don’t want my reviews to be super long ongoing babbling.

And what better 1st gush to do than Harry Potter?I decided to make my first book gush Harry Potter since reviewing it seems really pointless I mean how on earth am I supposed to review HARRY POTTER?? Because even if people haven’t read Harry Potter I feel like they know the basic storyline.

Let’s get on with it!

Let’s start with a little back story: As I’ve mentioned in previous posts the only book I’d previously read in the Harry Potter series was the first book. But that was some years ago and it just didn’t feel right with me to continue on with the series without first re-reading it. And so that’s what I did: I re-read the first book 🙂

I loved this book; I gave it a 4/5 stars. But admitedly I wasn’t fully immersed in this world and that’s because I had a hard time disconnecting myself from what I remember of the movie(s) My mind kept skipping ahead and recalling what was going to happen, not only within the plot of The Sorcerer’s Stone, but also further!

A character would be introduced and I’d be like: I know what happens to you. I hated it but couldn’t help it!! It would take me out of the story and nothing is more annoying when reading than that. It didn’t help that this was a re-read and so some sentences sounded familiar (naturally).

I am hopeful, however, that the next reads will be more successful in holding me in the story because after the first book, anything I remember of Harry Potter is pretty blurry. So that’s a relief! And because of this I ask:

PLEASE DON’T SPOIL ANYTHING FOR ME!!

But other than that, I really enjoyed the story.

Now lets talk about other thing:

The Dursley are ao horrible!! Oh my god! I think I might’ve been expelled from Hogwarts just because I decided to turn them into something. Maybe I would’ve brought in a cat and turned them into mice and watched then run around. I wouldn’t let the cat eat them, just chase them.

They wouldn’t let Harry do anything!! They wouldn’t even give him decent meals, just the leftovers! WHAT? Oh, and they would tell him about his parents. How horrible. I know His aunt and his mother weren’t close sisiters but to not mention her to Harry was just horrible! Did I use horrible enough?

Oh and don’t even get me started on that Dudley. What a bully! Not very bright either. I was so Happy when Hagrid gave him a pig’s tail. I was like: YES!

Characters I did like were the Weasleys!! I LOVED them! They are my favorite wizard family!
A scene that just warmed my heart was when mama Weasley mails the yearly Chistmas presents of homemade knitted sweaters to her kids and made an additional one for Harry. I was just so nice of her! Harry didn’t have much presents because he doesn’t really have anyone to send him presents and the Mr. and Mrs. Weasley can barely afford to buy things for their children, but she included Harry in their yearly gift which just goes to show how lovely they are!

 

That’s it for now! I plan on posting Gushes as I continue on with the Harry Potter series 🙂 Hope you enjoyed reading this post!

Also, what would you turn the Durselys into? And would you want a Weasley sweater?

 

HP Icon in the Featured Image was  created by Ryan Thomas Noll from The Noun Project.
9 thoughts on “Book Gush: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

  1. I started the HP series last year for the first time 🙂 I adored the movies throughout my teen years and I still watch my favourite scenes when ever I can. For this reason, I enjoyed reading this post!

    I would LOVE a Weasley sweater – I loved that whole family because they kind of symbolize the life I want for myself.

    Nihaad – Read & Seek

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the idea of book gush/rant posts! I also had a similar experience rereading the first book recently, where I found myself anticipating it too much from the movie, and it was so distracting! I plan to read the new illustrated edition soon, and I’m thinking/hoping that will be a fresh experience. Also, I want a Weasley sweater so badly!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I grew up watching the movies but it was only last year that I actually started and finished reading the series! I was so happy that I couldn’t remember much from the movies, but most was spoiled for me by other people which was really frustrating. But anyhow, the final book really made up for all the spoilers because it had the most important parts.

    About the movies, just right after I finished the final book a few days before new year, I marathoned the movies until the second last movie, and I’ve got to say that I wasn’t that impressed because obviously the books are much much much better. However, I’m still grateful that we were given these movies to see the world and fictional characters come to life! If you ever want to talk about HP to someone without having them throw out any spoilers at you, then feel free to DM me. :]

    Liked by 1 person

    • OMIGOSH! Thank you! I’ll probably take you up on that offer 🙂 I’m thinking of marathoning the movies too. But only after I’ve finished the books. I’ve gotten spoiled for some things too. I think at this point it’s pretty hard to NOT get spoiled for Harry Potter, you know? But there are somethings that haven’t got spoiled for me and I savour those moments!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Don’t mention it!
        Yes I think you should watch the movies after reading the books and I agree, it’s nearly impossible to not get spoiled on them!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

