Comic Book Review: The Walking Dead – Vol. 1

BC2Title: The Walking Dead: Days Gone By (Vol. 1)
Author: Robert Kirkman
Artist: Tom Moore
Rating: c3223582-142703389741889large
Genre: Dystopian, Comics 
Pages: 144
Published by: Image Comics
Publication: February 19th, 2013
Format: E-book
Source: Borrowed
Add

Goodreads Synopsis:

How many hours are in a day when you don’t spend half of them watching television?
When is the last time any of us REALLY worked to get something we wanted?

How long has it been since any of us really NEEDED something that we WANTED?

The world we knew is gone.

The world of commerce and frivolous necessity has been replaced by a world of survival and responsibility.

An epidemic of apocalyptic proportions has swept the globe causing the dead to rise and feed on the living.

In a matter of months society has crumbled.
no government, no grocery stores, no mail delivery, no cable TV.

In a world ruled by the dead, we are forced to finally start living.

The main reason I read this is that I love the show. The show took me a bit to get into, but after watching a handful of episodes, I was hooked! I’m up to date with the episodes and thought I’d check out the original story and see how it relates to what I watch.

Overview:

I’m sure most of you are aware of The Walking Dead, but just in case here’s an overview of Vol. 1: Sherif, Rick Grimes is in an accident in the beginning of the story and he goes into a comma in the hospital. When he wakes up, he soon realizes something isn’t right; it’s quiet and abandoned exceptfor the walking corpses. Zombies. Vol. 1 is about Rick adapting to the shock and trying to find his wife and son.

My Thoughts:

The show and the comics are the same for the most part. There are the same characters and the same events happen. The difference is in the pacing. Things happened too fast. I felt like Rick got accustomed quickly; he seemed to pick up on things like he’s been living in that kind of world for a while when he actually only woke from a comma not that long ago.

The fast pacing also hindered the character depth. Throughout the six issues in this volume, the personalities of these characters were hardly there. If I hadn’t watched the show and wasn’t already familiar with the character, I wouldn’t really care for anyone.

I don’t feel like the survival elements were fleshed out enough. But perhapes this changes in the later comics. (I’m hoping.) Dutties are pretty much devided by gender; the men hunt and keep watch while the women take care of camp maintainence. This is brought up by one of the women in the camp while preparing to wash clothes but is quickly dismissed with “it isn’t about women’s rights, it’s about being realistic.” from one of the other women. And that’s the end of it, no more discussions of the devisions of labor. While this did irk me, I wasn’t bothered so much by this since I know this changes later on.

On the Art:

I loved the illustrations by Tom Moore! 5/5 star quality for that. But I didn’t like how there was no coloring! It’s all in black and white. You can still make the comic look dreary and gloomy with some colouring. I love color in my comics, so that brought down the overall art to a 4/5 stars. (above is a gallery. Click on pictures to see)

Other than that, I loved the concept and story line. And enjoyed reading about my favorite characters and seeing them in comic form.

Leave a Reply

