(Belated) Unicorn Tracks Excerpt! + Swag Pack Giveaway!

Title: Unicorn Tracks
Author: Julia Ember
Genre: Fantasy, (Young Adult)
Pages: 180
Published: April 21st, 2016
House: Harmony Ink Press

Goodreads Synopsis:

After a savage attack drives her from her home, sixteen-year-old Mnemba finds a place in her cousin Tumelo’s successful safari business, where she quickly excels as a guide. Surrounding herself with nature and the mystical animals inhabiting the savannah not only allows Mnemba’s tracking skills to shine, it helps her to hide from the terrible memories that haunt her.

Mnemba is employed to guide Mr. Harving and his daughter, Kara, through the wilderness as they study Unicorns. The young women are drawn to each other, despite that fact that Kara is betrothed. During their research, they discover a conspiracy by a group of poachers to capture the Unicorns and exploit their supernatural strength to build a railway. Together, they must find a way to protect the creatures Kara adores while resisting the love they know they can never indulge.

Finally able to upload this! I was supposed to upload this a little bit ago but wasn’t able to due to internet issues. But now I can finally release the excerpt AND offer you guys this awesome sounding swag bag!

Excerpt:

The fire of anger cooled into sadness in my chest. She liked me. She’d actually said it. But she was right. What could come of it? I folded my arms across my chest, wishing I had the courage to reach for her. Kara bit her lip. It was so chapped by dry wind and heat that it started to bleed.

I pushed Elikia another step forward, so that Kara and I sat parallel to one another. Gently, I swung my leg over Brekna’s flank and settled into the space behind her saddle. The horse sighed at the extra weight but stood still. I took a deep breath as Kara’s body tensed, and I have expected her to push me away. Instead she closed her eyes, leaned back, and I slipped my arm around her waist.

In Nazwimbe, we have a saying: what has been sealed in blood cannot be undone. The bond between a mother and the child she conceived, a murder, a rape, the cut of a vicious whip … these are actions that no one can take back. When I pressed my lips to hers, tasting the salt-iron sweetness of the blood on her lip, I knew there was no going back for me.

One way or another, I’d find a way around the laws that bound her to her finance. I needed to be more than her one adventure. I needed her to help me heal.

 

Giveaway!And now for the swag bag!

(Only availabe to US, CAN, and UK)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

↑  ↑  Click  ↑  ↑

Swag Bag Includes:

– Signed copy of Unicorn Tracks
– Swag incl. Postcard and Bookmark
– African Tribal Pattern Headband
– Unicorn Plush
– Millie Marotta’s Wild Savannah Adult Colouring book with Pencils — Author will colour and sign the first page! ❤
– Artisan Spiced Chocolate — Mnemba’s favourite.

6 thoughts on “(Belated) Unicorn Tracks Excerpt! + Swag Pack Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

