Book Review: Final Girls by Riley Sager (THE THRILLER TO READ)

Title: Final Girls
Author: Riley Sager
Rating: 
Genre: Thriller, Mystery
Pages: 352
Expected Publication: July 11th, 2017
House: Dutton
Recieved from: NetGalley


Goodreads Synopsis:

Ten years ago, college student Quincy Carpenter went on vacation with five friends and came back alone, the only survivor of a horror movie–scale massacre. In an instant, she became a member of a club no one wants to belong to—a group of similar survivors known in the press as the Final Girls. Lisa, who lost nine sorority sisters to a college dropout’s knife; Sam, who went up against the Sack Man during her shift at the Nightlight Inn; and now Quincy, who ran bleeding through the woods to escape Pine Cottage and the man she refers to only as Him. The three girls are all attempting to put their nightmares behind them, and, with that, one another. Despite the media’s attempts, they never meet.

Now, Quincy is doing well—maybe even great, thanks to her Xanax prescription. She has a caring almost-fiancé, Jeff; a popular baking blog; a beautiful apartment; and a therapeutic presence in Coop, the police officer who saved her life all those years ago. Her memory won’t even allow her to recall the events of that night; the past is in the past.

That is, until Lisa, the first Final Girl, is found dead in her bathtub, wrists slit, and Sam, the second, appears on Quincy’s doorstep. Blowing through Quincy’s life like a whirlwind, Sam seems intent on making Quincy relive the past, with increasingly dire consequences, all of which makes Quincy question why Sam is really seeking her out. And when new details about Lisa’s death come to light, Quincy’s life becomes a race against time as she tries to unravel Sam’s truths from her lies, evade the police and hungry reporters, and, most crucially, remember what really happened at Pine Cottage, before what was started ten years ago is finished.Read More »

Advertisements

Author Interview: Laura Silverman! (Girl Out of Water)


Title: Girl Out of Water
Author: Laura Silverman
Genre: Contemporary
Pages: 320
Expected Publication: May 2nd, 2017
House: Sourcebooks Fire

Goodreads Synopsis:
Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.

Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can’t wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home-it’s her heart. But when her aunt, a single mother, is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins.

Landlocked Nebraska is the last place Anise wants to be. Sure, she loves her family, but it’s hard to put her past behind her when she’s living in the childhood house of the mother who abandoned her. And with every Instagram post, her friends back home feel further away.

Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who challenges her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Because sometimes the only way to find your footing is to let go.

Preorder it!: Amazon (US)Amazon (UK)Barnes & NoblesBook Depository

Read More »

¡Bloggiesta! Getting Shiz Done With a Blogging Checklist

¡Hola mis amigos de internet! It’s Bloggiesta time! What is Bloggiesta you ask?

In short, Bloggiesta is a blogging marathon revolving around ticking off those items on your to-do list and improving your blog while in the good company of other awesome bloggers doing the same thing. Our awesome mascot Pedro (Plan. Edit. Develop. Review. Organize) is ready to break out the nachos, enchiladas, drinks, mariachi music and whack a pinata or two! It’s nothing short of an awesome fiesta!

Read More »

Debuting My Personlized Reading Challenge (that i pray i won’t completely fail)

Hello fabulous bibliophile (and magical faerie creatures of the forest)!

New year usually mean new reading challenges for us Book Sniffers.

*best announcer voice* I interrupt this blog post momentarily to say: If you’re still looking for a reading challenge check out my post Searching fo a Good Reading Challenge? (wild title right?)

I love reading challenges. I do, really. I know, I know, I don’t really have the best track record of completing* the challenges but it’s fun trying to match a book to a challenge and the feeling of accomplishment when you get to tick it of your list is almost as satisfying as popping bubble wrap**! I mean what kind of living, breathing human DOESN’T LIKE POPPING BUBBLE WRAP? Read More »