The Best of the Best So Far in 2017

Okay so it’s already mid-year, and yes I might be 7 books behind my reading goal but … shush, let’s not think about that now. That’s what the end of the year is for! It’s what cramming is for.

I’ve really enjoyed my collection of read books this year. I don’t think I’ve had a single book I didn’t like and I haven’t DNF anything yet. I Hoping I can keep that up!Read More »

Book Review: Final Girls by Riley Sager (THE THRILLER TO READ)

Title: Final Girls
Author: Riley Sager
Rating: 
Genre: Thriller, Mystery
Pages: 352
Expected Publication: July 11th, 2017
House: Dutton
Recieved from: NetGalley


Goodreads Synopsis:

Ten years ago, college student Quincy Carpenter went on vacation with five friends and came back alone, the only survivor of a horror movie–scale massacre. In an instant, she became a member of a club no one wants to belong to—a group of similar survivors known in the press as the Final Girls. Lisa, who lost nine sorority sisters to a college dropout’s knife; Sam, who went up against the Sack Man during her shift at the Nightlight Inn; and now Quincy, who ran bleeding through the woods to escape Pine Cottage and the man she refers to only as Him. The three girls are all attempting to put their nightmares behind them, and, with that, one another. Despite the media’s attempts, they never meet.

Now, Quincy is doing well—maybe even great, thanks to her Xanax prescription. She has a caring almost-fiancé, Jeff; a popular baking blog; a beautiful apartment; and a therapeutic presence in Coop, the police officer who saved her life all those years ago. Her memory won’t even allow her to recall the events of that night; the past is in the past.

That is, until Lisa, the first Final Girl, is found dead in her bathtub, wrists slit, and Sam, the second, appears on Quincy’s doorstep. Blowing through Quincy’s life like a whirlwind, Sam seems intent on making Quincy relive the past, with increasingly dire consequences, all of which makes Quincy question why Sam is really seeking her out. And when new details about Lisa’s death come to light, Quincy’s life becomes a race against time as she tries to unravel Sam’s truths from her lies, evade the police and hungry reporters, and, most crucially, remember what really happened at Pine Cottage, before what was started ten years ago is finished.Read More »

Author Interview: Laura Silverman! (Girl Out of Water)


Title: Girl Out of Water
Author: Laura Silverman
Genre: Contemporary
Pages: 320
Expected Publication: May 2nd, 2017
House: Sourcebooks Fire

Goodreads Synopsis:
Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.

Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can’t wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home-it’s her heart. But when her aunt, a single mother, is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins.

Landlocked Nebraska is the last place Anise wants to be. Sure, she loves her family, but it’s hard to put her past behind her when she’s living in the childhood house of the mother who abandoned her. And with every Instagram post, her friends back home feel further away.

Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who challenges her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Because sometimes the only way to find your footing is to let go.

Preorder it!: Amazon (US)Amazon (UK)Barnes & NoblesBook Depository

Read More »

What My Eyes Have Been Glued To (Don’t worry, not literally)

Hello readers!
How’s the progress of tackling that TBR?
What’s that? Oh. Sorry I asked 🙂

Today I’m bringing something else I love to the blog! And that’s watching stuff. Lately I haven’t had much time to watch stuff; it’s mostly been reserved for the weekend, apart from the Mindy episodes which I’ve been watching almost daily.

Haha, Mindy. She’s become part of my morning routine!

Okay, let’s get into it!
These are shows that I’ve watched recently. Read More »

Pilot Review: Mr. Robot (no spoilers)

(this post was written in 2016 and I’m just now getting to posting it.)

I thought I’d add movie/show reviews to my content here on the blog since watching them is something I love doing. Plus I’ve also started to pick up more shows to watch since the ones I am invested in are on break. I haven’t really decided if I’ll review all shows I watch yet or just ones that I’m really excited about. Anyway, on to the review!Read More »

Comic Book Review: The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl Vol.1

SG

Title: The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Vol1. : Squirrel Power
Author:
Ryan North
Artist:
Erica Henderson
Rating: 
Genre:
Suoerheroes, Humor (Young Adult)
Pages:
128
Published:
September 1st, 2015
House:
Marvel
Format:
E-book


Goodreads Synopsis:
Wolverine, Deadpool, Doctor Doom, Thanos: There’s one hero that’s beaten them all-and now she’s got her own ongoing series! (Not that she’s bragging.) That’s right, you asked for it, you got it, it’s SQUIRREL GIRL! (She’s also starting college this semester.) It’s the start of a brand-new set of adventures starring the nuttiest and most upbeat super hero in the world!

My Thoughts:

When my brothers first told me about Squirrel Girl, who beat some of the most badass people in the marvel universe including, Doctor Doom, Wolverine, Deadpool and even Thanos, with nothing but squirrel like abilities! I thought Marvel was playing a joke. I mean, clearly it had to be. How could one person beat Thanos, the most powerful being in the marvel universe with squirrel like abilities?? It’s a joke. Right?

Nope.Read More »

¡Bloggiesta! Getting Shiz Done With a Blogging Checklist

¡Hola mis amigos de internet! It’s Bloggiesta time! What is Bloggiesta you ask?

In short, Bloggiesta is a blogging marathon revolving around ticking off those items on your to-do list and improving your blog while in the good company of other awesome bloggers doing the same thing. Our awesome mascot Pedro (Plan. Edit. Develop. Review. Organize) is ready to break out the nachos, enchiladas, drinks, mariachi music and whack a pinata or two! It’s nothing short of an awesome fiesta!

Read More »